The 2012-2013 PRSSA leadership. L-R: Franki Reynolds, Historian; Dan Patrone, Vice President; YoungAh Lee, Faculty Advisor; Jenn Goethel, President; Matt Rush, PR Director; Rilee Catalano, Secretary.

The IWU chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) came home from this year’s PRSSA National Conference in San Francisco with the Chapter Development award from the Dr. F.H. Teahan Chapter Awards Program.

The award goes to smaller PRSSA chapters who have in the past year gone to “exceptional effort and creativity” to grow their membership and increase member involvement and opportunities.

“In 2010-2011 we had approximately 10 paid members,” said Jenn Goethel, the president of the IWU PRSSA. “Last year at the end of the 2011-2012 year we had, paid, 35…we also had more members attend regional conferences and had them network with professionals in Indianapolis. We were able to send a member to run for the national committee back in March.”

The IWU PRSSA won the Student Organization of the Year award among IWU organizations last year. This year, they’re not resting on their laurels. They have a full slate of events planned, including both off-campus events for their own members focusing onĀ  professional development and networking, and public events on the IWU campus, including the ever-popular Mr. Wildcat show.

“Now that we’re recognized nationally, hopefully our students will have more opportunities,” Goethel said.

Photo courtesy PRSSA